The Day Before the World Turned


Seven years ago today, I know exactly where I was, and what I was doing. I know because the way I view the world around me changed just a few hours later. The eve of the most horrifically inescapable day of my life was a wonderful day. It was the kind of day that brought hope for, me and the future.

One thing sticks out for me in my memory of Sept. 10, 2001. It was an ordinary day. I went to work. I came home. I went out for dinner and drinks with friends. After dinner, my friends and I had one of the most memorable conversations of my life. We touched on everything. War, God, Martian Luther King Jr. were but a few topics that came up in the hours to follow. I remember looking around the table. There sat the African American son of a Baptist preacher from Atlanta, the  Indian-Spanish PETA activist, the hippy, the musician, the student, and I. Today it sounds like the start of a great joke. I remember thinking, if all these people can sit and have a conversation then Dr. King’s Dream really was coming true. The evening was not marred by political discourse, but a sense of unity. A unity I had never felt before, and one I have never felt since.

Many people lost a lot of things the next morning. I can remember that day vividly also. I also remember what I lost from the night before. With respect.

~ by gotea on September 10, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
