News Flash: It Is Ok To Vote Based On Race


I am going to take a page from my fellow African American bloggers playbook. I am going to go out on a limb and say it is ok not to vote for Barak Obama because he is a black man. Sorry to poke at your little hornets nest, but you deserve it. For too long has the race baiting, racist, and sexist African American blogging core been given a free ride. “Holy crap, did I just say that?” you may ask. Absolutely.

My point is a simple one. Find me one African American blogger that is writing negatively about Barry Obama. (There may be one) Ask yourself, honestly, why are there no undecided African American voters? I mean 0, nada, zilch. The honest answer, they are voting for the home team. I say good for them. In response, I want to tell them they are racist. It is allowed. This blogger refuses to provide an election day 40 acres and a mule for you. I don’t owe you anything. News Flash: Nobody owes you anything, not the world, the USA or “White People”.

If I haven’t inflamed your P.C. genuflect yet, let me go one further. It is ok to vote for John McCain because he is white. Yes that is correct. It is ok for you to vote for the home team. Just as Barak Obama skews his liberal agenda towards inner cities, which are predominantly African American, he conversely has no clue about the rural parts of this country. He is not looking out for you. Vote your own team if you like and sleep well.

Look, you have already been called a racist. You can now vote with a clear conscious. You have been convicted before the votes are tallied. The people who have cried for equality have finally received it. They want more. Screw um. Martian Luther King Jr. envisioned a world where a man would be judged on his merits, not the color of his skin. The very people he fought for have radicalized the notion and ignored the goal. They are voting for a man for no other reason than the color of his skin, all the while, calling you the racist. Now that is the pot calling the kettle black. My African American friends, you deserve what you get. Because of you, I get to vote for the home team too, in the name of equality. Bounce that one around in your head a bit before calling me a racist. I assure you I am no bigot or racist. I am pointing a finger at you by writing this piece. I am calling you out, in the name of equality.

black

~ by gotea on October 30, 2008.

6 Responses to “News Flash: It Is Ok To Vote Based On Race”

  1. […] News Flash: It Is Ok To Vote Based On Race I am going to take a page from my fellow African American bloggers playbook. I am going to go out on a limb and say it is ok not to vote for Barak Obama because he is a black man. Sorry to poke at your little hornets nest, but you deserve it. For too long has the race baiting, racist, and sexist African American blogging core been given a free ride. “Holy crap, did I just say that?” you may ask. Absolutely. My point is a simple one. Find me one African American blogger that is writing negativ […]

  2. LOL. This post seemed like it was a long time coming. As a Black blogger, I guess I can agree to some extent. I do feel like in the African American community, the Presidential race has turned somewhat into a popularity contest…which womps…BUT I’d be remised if I didn’t mention the fact that for every blind Black voter pushing for the home team, there’s got to be a White man out there voting with the same mindset for McCain.

    I have been openly critical of Obama’s experience (or lack thereof) and economic reform ideas, but even with that being said, I’m not sure that McCain offers anything more viable for the middle class…I mean he might even be so bold as to tell you that his focus is not on the middle class (if injected with truth serum, that is).

    At any rate, yes Barack wins the blind Black vote. But who’s to say McCain doesn’t win the blind White vote??? Fair??? Nah. American??? Yep.

    http:///thecoppersun.wordpress.com

    // TCS

  3. Thanks for reading. I agree completely with you. i appreciate you reading the whole piece correctly. it is a delicate subject to get across.

  4. Nice piece.
    We (our sons and our daughters too) are already being called racist if we don’t support Obama. Meanwhile, 96% of the black community is voting him. I am sick and tired of the double standard in this election.

    The best way to stop the racism, is to Stop The Racism!

  5. […] News Flash: It Is Ok To Vote Based On Race I am going to take a page from my fellow African American bloggers playbook. I am going to go out on a limb and say it is ok not to vote for Barak Obama because he is a black man. Sorry to poke at your little hornets nest, but you deserve it. For too long has the race baiting, racist, and sexist African American blogging core been given a free ride. “Holy crap, did I just say that?” you may ask. Absolutely. My point is a simple one. Find me one African American blogger that is writing negativ […]

  6. You are also corret thecoopersun. There is absolutely a “blind” white vote. I can admit to hearing more than one of my white friends saying so. I don’t think however, that the type of racism today is significant enough to affect this election as it may have been a generation ago. I franky believe that the racism, or favortism to put it more eloquently, today counter-balance each other. Right? Nope. American? Yep. Getting better each generation? Only we can make that happen, when we teach our children that racism is wrong no matter who perpetrates it.

Leave a Reply

 
